[identity profile] abomvubuso.livejournal.com posting in [community profile] talkpolitics
After more than a decade of huge popularity, Putin's party United Russia is probably going to lose its absolute majority in the Russian Duma. With most polls reporting, it's now obvious that the voters used the elections to express their, to use such an understatement, "dissatisfaction" with the authoritarianism and corruption that's pervading all corners of social life in Russia. There were lots of complaints about vote rigging and using all sorts of dirty tricks to distort the results: ballots being filled before the vote had even started, using fading ink, several entries in the ballot room by the same persons, etc etc. But all of these incidents couldn't conceal the fact that the ruling party is losing popularity at a staggering speed.

If we're to talk about Putin's "decreasing" popularity, what should we say about his party United Russia? Its popularity is virtually plummeting. It's as if the Russian voters, despite the many voices calling for boycotting the elections, have awoken from a long nap or something. So far Putin hasn't faced any serious rivals - indeed, there's no single figure on the Russian political scene that you could point at and declare a viable alternative to him. It seems his only rival is the general fatigue in the populace with the semi-authoritarian system that he has created. Even those who've consistently praised his reign as a period of stabilisation (both economical and political), at least during his first 2 terms, are now feeling increasingly fed up with the prospect of seeing his mug for another two terms. And the presidential election is knocking at the door - it's next March. So far he may seem invincible, but that's both too short a time and long enough for things to change significantly.

"A slap across the face of United Russia" was the most frequent sentiment around the media; "Pyrrhic victory" was the verdict of the blogosphere after the election results became clear. It's no news that Russia could hardly be called a real "democracy". Sure, they've got regular elections, but many things in the Russian political system look made up and distorted: from the constant pressure on the political opposition and intimidating any voices of dissent, the servile attitude of the mainstream press to Putin and his clique. Whatever the flaws of Russian democracy, though, it was still alive enough to give this slap across the face of Putin's party, which has now lost its total control on the Duma.

Whatever the final result of this election, it's evident that there'll be a very different political atmosphere in Russia from now on. Even though we'll be seeing the same old faces in Kremlin. I have no doubts that Putin will still easily win the presidential election in March, but how much this will be because of his real popularity, and how much will be due to his control on the media and the lack of a viable alternative, really depends on who you're asking.

Although everyone knew too well that he was intending to come back in Kremlin, the act itself of confirming this intention caused more disgust and disappointment than praise - we've all heard about the booing he received on several occasions by audiences that were supposed to applaud him. The general mood looks to be evolving from political apathy and silent approval to the regime, to apathy + silent disapproval. How much time will be needed for that to shift to real loud dissent, is yet to be seen. But that now seems like a process that's gaining momentum, and it'll have enough time to unfold in the next years.

So, what looked impossible just a few months ago, is now a fact - the ruling party has got less than 50% of the vote, while the Communists got about 20% - almost twice more than last time. Despite the economic development, many Russians feel marginalised and disenfranchised, and they've turned to outright nostalgia for the communist past.

A while back, anything below the 64% that United Russia got back in 2007, would be considered a big fail. Putin relied on a full control over government and the state bureaucracy, and he was hoping to build upon that to strengthen his grip on power even more. But now his invincible aura is seriously shaken, and that could give his opponents the sense of opportunity to push even more and sting him where it hurts most. And it's not like there aren't some strong opposition parties gaining momentum: the Communists have always been a factor, the nationalists of Zhirinovski are already very experienced and well organised, and the Liberals are gaining popularity among the emerging middle class. So United Russia will probably have to consider establishing some functioning relationships with some of these players, if they don't want to be under a constant siege in parliament for the next few years. And that means compromise, something unheard of until now.

This election wasn't just a referendum about United Russia, it was a popularity vote for Putin himself, and he'll surely be drawing his conclusions before the presidential vote. No doubt this result is a painful blow on his ambitions to be the eternal ruler of Mother Russia who'd be loved/feared by everybody.

Of course, Medvedev (who earlier this year put his tail between his legs and relinquished the leader's post, exactly as planned), tried to interpret the result in a favourable way. He said the election results are proving that there's "real democracy in Russia", and they correctly reflect the current moods in the country and the realistic ratio between the various political powers. But what else could've he said? Putin was similarly jubilant: "Despite the enormous responsibilities that rest on our shoulders, our party has preserved its dominant role in Russian politics". Well, not so fast. We'll see to that a bit later. If anything, Russian politics could get a tad more interesting in the next few years, which is good, because for a time it was looking like the most boring thing one could possibly imagine.
 

(no subject)

Date: 5/12/11 12:53 (UTC)
From: [identity profile] dv8nation.livejournal.com
Countdown to absurd posts by Nashi supports begins...now!

(no subject)

Date: 5/12/11 15:34 (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mahnmut.livejournal.com
Over-eating with power and staying in power is never a good thing. Sooner or later you lose a sense of reality and reality comes to bite you in the ass eventually.

Actually United Russia is not the classical type of "party". It's a non-ideological machine for creating and consuming power. Very similar to ANC here.

(no subject)

Date: 5/12/11 15:37 (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mahnmut.livejournal.com
(That should've been: Staying in power for too long).

(no subject)

Date: 5/12/11 15:48 (UTC)
From: [identity profile] xforge.livejournal.com
Maybe they're just getting tired of all the photos of Putin doing heroic deeds in macho poses?

(no subject)

Date: 5/12/11 18:04 (UTC)
From: [identity profile] paedraggaidin.livejournal.com
How could anyone get tired of those? I get hot and bothered just thinking about it....

(no subject)

Date: 5/12/11 18:08 (UTC)
From: [identity profile] xforge.livejournal.com
He is probably the hunkiest world leader currently out there isn't he?
(deleted comment)

(no subject)

Date: 5/12/11 20:12 (UTC)
From: [identity profile] meus-ovatio.livejournal.com
This reminds me of my plan to "vote" next year by going to the polls, getting my ballot, walking to the booth, and then going back to the election judge for a different ballot.

"I need a different ballot."
"Oh did you make a mistake?"
"No this one is crap."
"Huh?"
"I need more choices."

(no subject)

Date: 5/12/11 20:25 (UTC)
From: [identity profile] airiefairie.livejournal.com
Imagine there was a "None of the above" option on the ballot, and if it wins a majority another election is scheduled with completely different candidates. =)

(no subject)

Date: 5/12/11 21:18 (UTC)
From: [identity profile] underlankers.livejournal.com
Well, let's hope if this is a true democratic movement that the third time will be the charm. Russia could use a successful democratic movement. Let's also hope if Putin falls that the lessons of where he managed to recreate a milder dictatorship will strengthen Russian democratic movements.

(no subject)

Date: 6/12/11 20:04 (UTC)
From: [identity profile] kylinrouge.livejournal.com
It's a shame so few replies were made about this, as there is now a 10k+ people protest in the Red Square and all across Russia over election fraud.

(no subject)

Date: 6/12/11 21:02 (UTC)
From: [identity profile] kylinrouge.livejournal.com
It's funny how you almost predicted this, though. It's like, imagine if someone made a post about injustice in Egypt right before the Arab Spring? I would feel pretty proud if I were you.

(no subject)

Date: 7/12/11 06:27 (UTC)
From: [identity profile] kylinrouge.livejournal.com
History repeats itself. How anyone can look at history and see "Mubarak steps down; Hands reigns to military council" and think that democracy has prevailed simply has their eyes closed. I mentioned several times from the start that it was not progress.

Credits & Style Info

Talk Politics.

A place to discuss politics without egomaniacal mods

DAILY QUOTE:
"The NATO charter clearly says that any attack on a NATO member shall be treated, by all members, as an attack against all. So that means that, if we attack Greenland, we'll be obligated to go to war against ... ourselves! Gee, that's scary. You really don't want to go to war with the United States. They're insane!"

March 2026

M T W T F S S
       1
2345 678
910 1112 1314 15
1617 1819 202122
2324 2526 272829
3031