asthfghl: (You may kiss me now!)
[personal profile] asthfghl posting in [community profile] talkpolitics
Yeah, we all know about Faux Cyrillic. It's silly and it's fun. We've also heard of the funny Russian accent, Russians are so funny trying to speak English, with their soft accent and their proneness to skip the "the" article. But what about the other way around, English-speaking people trying to pronounce Russian words and names and basically slaughtering them?

Here's a look into the most common Russian words that ended up like minced meat after being pronounced in English. To anyone remotely familiar with Russian, the sound of these is like a bag of rusty iron nails being drawn through the back of your skull. Neither is Putin's name VLADemere, nor is Nikita's surname CRUST-choff. Sorry.

(no subject)

Date: 19/11/21 20:48 (UTC)
dewline: Text - "On the DEWLine" (Default)
From: [personal profile] dewline
Too many North American anglophones seem to have taken it to heart to believe in the doctrine of "mis-spell and mispronounce everything possible or die in agony". I say this, being one such person raised in that tradition.
Edited Date: 19/11/21 20:48 (UTC)

(no subject)

Date: 20/11/21 12:50 (UTC)
oportet: (Default)
From: [personal profile] oportet
I think if Fedor wanted to correct anyone they would probably listen - unless he just got tired of repeating himself.

I've never heard any announcer not pronounce it fay-door...

Credits & Style Info

Talk Politics.

A place to discuss politics without egomaniacal mods

DAILY QUOTE:
"The NATO charter clearly says that any attack on a NATO member shall be treated, by all members, as an attack against all. So that means that, if we attack Greenland, we'll be obligated to go to war against ... ourselves! Gee, that's scary. You really don't want to go to war with the United States. They're insane!"

March 2026

M T W T F S S
       1
2345 678
910 1112 1314 15
1617 1819 202122
2324 2526 272829
3031     

Summary