[identity profile] paedraggaidin.livejournal.com posting in [community profile] talkpolitics
Shoes. You know, as a normal guy, I don't really think about shoes very much. I have, in fact, one pair of shoes to my name, a really nice, long-lasting pair of brown leather Dunhams I get from a specialty store in Wichita, the same pair I buy every three years or so and that serve as work, casual, and dress shoes (this is in contrast to, say, my sister, who has an estimated 744,000 pairs of shoes in her house). I wear them until they are literally falling apart, and then I replace them with an identical pair. (I would have worn my last pair longer had Penny not finally forced me to replace them when we went back to Wichita for Spring Break, pointing out that the lack of soles and tendency to squeak with sucked-up water during rainy weather were general indications of obsolescence.)

I don't get people who have shoes for every occasion, every color, every season, or whatever. I mean, they're shoes. They are a mere tool that serve a useful function, an accessory meant to cover and protect the feet. You can try all you want to tell me how you have to match shoes with outfit and color and [yadda yadda yadda endless shoe-obsessed bullshit], but I'm sorry, I don't get it. Adult human beings require, at maximum, for normal purposes, three pairs of shoes: one for everyday wear, one for dressy occasions, one for inclement weather. Now, some workers require special footwear, and that's okay, and so do athletes. People who engage in pointless physical exertion exercise also may require one additional pair. People who think it's "hot out" may, for some reason or other, decide they need sandals, and I suppose that's acceptable. But people who have 10-20 pairs of shoes? Come on. That's ridiculous.

(Of course, I'm also the guys whose year-round wardrobe consists primarily of black casual pants and black or grey t-shirts, but that's really beside the point.)

So, you can imagine my continued horror at reading about the recent outbreak of violent tomfoolery surrounding Nike's release of new Air Jordan sneakers. It even hit my old stomping ground, the Towne East Square shopping mall in Wichita, where I used to spend my childhood Saturdays in the Aladdin's Castle arcade, with the occasional delectable sandwich from Steak Escape in the food court. To wit:
In Lithonia, Georgia, police took four people into custody after a mall's doors were damaged, CNN affiliate WSB reported. Also, police questioned a mother who witnesses said left her kids, ages 2 and 5, in a car as she went into the mall to buy the shoes, WSB reported.

...

At a suburban Seattle mall Friday, police used pepper spray to bring order to an unruly crowd of 2,000 shoppers seeking the new shoe, said Mike Murphy of the Tukwila, Washington, Police Department.

...

In Louisville, Kentucky, public safety dispatchers said they received a report of 75 to 100 people in a fight over the shoes at a mall, CNN affiliate WDRB reported.

...

In Charlotte, North Carolina, police were called to three malls after crowds became rowdy, CNN affiliate WCNC reported. At one mall, customers pried open a door at 6 a.m. Friday, and one person was arrested for resisting an officer, the station reported.
Fights, near riots, trampling of law enforcement officers, burglary, vandalism, child endangerment, and general mayhem, over a $180 pair of sneakers! Ye gods, people, $180 for sneakers! Do you know how many other, better things I could do with $180 than waste it on a stupid pair of celebrity-branded sneakers? I could get 30 lunch specials at New Fun Ree. Or take Penny out to dinner twice at Sonny Williams' Steak Room, one of Little Rock's most egregiously overpriced restaurants.* Or, seriously, take her to dinner five times somewhere nice. Or get one textbook for next semester. Or two pairs of my beloved brown Dunhams, which would last for around six years.

It boggles the mind, my friends, it boggles the mind. Why would anyone camp out for hours, in December, for a pair of shoes? Or fight other people? or break down a door? I don't get it. They are, once again, just a damned pair of shoes. It's even worse than the idiotic parents who behave like sugared-up kindergartners, fighting over Tickle Me Elmo or whatever the latest fad toy is. At least they're wanting to get something for their (apparently spoiled and equally stupid)** children, whereas the Air Jordan people are, presumably, only wanting them for themselves. (I don't really know...I've never bought shoes for someone as a gift before. Do people do that? I would be pretty insulted if someone gave me shoes as a gift, really.)

Shoes, like I said, are a tool. You don't see people in the hardware department at Sears fighting over cordless drills*** or breaking down the door to get a deal on the new Craftsman Tim Taylor Retro 1995 Rocket Fuel-Powered Leaf Blower, right? What makes Nike Air Jordans so special, so worth violence and stupidity? It's one of the many, many Signs of the Apocalypse that are heralding the end of Western Civilization. People fighting over freaking shoes. Talk about totally skewed priorities! It's just so, so, well, stupid! I don't get it! BAH!

BAH HUMBUG. Merry Christmas, everyone!

* Like the idea of $180 sneakers, the idea of a $45 New York strip steak is so stupid as to make a lobotomized jellyfish look like Nikolai Tesla. $45 should feed three people at a fancy restaurant, including drinks. Of course, to me Olive Garden is a "fancy restaurant." I think I am a little too working class for this whole lawyer culture thing. You should have seen me at the law review conference in March. I didn't even know what to *do* with a $71/day food allowance.

** You know, when I was a kid, I generally wanted Legos or books, with the occasional Star Wars action figure thrown in for good measure. I never would have thought of demanding that my mom Santa bring me something specific. That would have been an absolute sure-fire way to not get what I wanted.

*** Although I can see some of my relatives doing this, after their typical Christmas morning quart of Jack and Coke, if you amended the sentence to "fighting with cordless drills." Nothing like a Hayes Family Christmas!

(no subject)

Date: 24/12/11 20:27 (UTC)
From: [identity profile] enders-shadow.livejournal.com
A) Your icon reminds me of RealityHammer
B) I can imagine that the shoes that people would riot over would make a good present for those who would have rioted, but had other obligations
C) I'm right there with ya on how stupid 10-20 pairs of shoes is. But remember, that not everybody has taken to heart the lesson of Fight Club

(deleted comment)

(no subject)

Date: 25/12/11 18:31 (UTC)
From: [identity profile] ginnyjake.livejournal.com
Do you wear brown shoes with black suits?

(no subject)

Date: 26/12/11 18:23 (UTC)
From: [identity profile] blue-mangos.livejournal.com
*shudders*

(no subject)

Date: 24/12/11 21:03 (UTC)
From: [identity profile] meus-ovatio.livejournal.com
I don't wear shoes, I wear steel toed boots. If I have to wear dress shoes, I feel naked and unprepared for rough ground, and bereft of my chief weapon. The steel-toes. I won't ever kick a man unless I have steel toes on.

(no subject)

Date: 24/12/11 21:03 (UTC)
From: [identity profile] meus-ovatio.livejournal.com
Plus they help for when my horse steps on my feet.

(no subject)

Date: 24/12/11 21:05 (UTC)
From: [identity profile] meus-ovatio.livejournal.com
I didn't even know what to *do* with a $71/day food allowance.
I always put my per diems in the bank and eat at McDonald's.
(deleted comment)
(deleted comment)

(no subject)

Date: 24/12/11 21:14 (UTC)
From: [identity profile] meus-ovatio.livejournal.com
I only eat once a day anyways.

(no subject)

Date: 25/12/11 07:31 (UTC)
From: [identity profile] meus-ovatio.livejournal.com
Weird. It was always just a part of my paycheck.

(no subject)

Date: 25/12/11 00:30 (UTC)
From: [identity profile] blue-mangos.livejournal.com
I have far far more than 20 pairs of shoes. I don't even want to tell you how many for fear of the rant it will set off.

(no subject)

Date: 25/12/11 02:33 (UTC)
From: [identity profile] devil-ad-vocate.livejournal.com
A police officer was injured in the shoe idiocy here in Austin. I had hoped we had more sane people. The stupidity is overwhelming.

(no subject)

Date: 25/12/11 02:37 (UTC)
From: [identity profile] ghoststrider.livejournal.com
I really can't understand the how commercialism around Christmas. I mean, I get it in that companies have done this in order to boost sales...but I can't get people rioting because they can't buy a certain product. I mean hell, I'm the freaking free market libertarian and I don't get it.

Much better just to celebrate the Solstice, have a small party, drink booze, and be done with it.

(no subject)

Date: 25/12/11 10:00 (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mahnmut.livejournal.com
That's the result of thorough brainwashing.
(deleted comment)

(no subject)

Date: 25/12/11 10:11 (UTC)
From: [identity profile] gunslnger.livejournal.com
There is nothing wrong with these:
http://www.europeanshoulderbag.com/

(no subject)

Date: 26/12/11 21:56 (UTC)
From: [identity profile] telemann.livejournal.com
Shoulder messenger bags dude. You got to get one if you have a laptop anyway ;)

(no subject)

Date: 25/12/11 08:41 (UTC)
From: [identity profile] stewstewstewdio.livejournal.com
"my sister, who has an estimated 744,000 pairs of shoes in her house"

Your sister is Imelda Marcos?

(no subject)

Date: 25/12/11 18:29 (UTC)
From: [identity profile] ginnyjake.livejournal.com
I don't know what I'd do with $71 for food either. I mean, come on, I can make a $3 dollar lunch from the law school vending machines. I almost cringe when I have to spend more than $10 for a meal.

(no subject)

Date: 27/12/11 13:29 (UTC)
From: [identity profile] underlankers.livejournal.com
But do they shit on cars? Inquiring minds want to know.

Credits & Style Info

Talk Politics.

A place to discuss politics without egomaniacal mods

DAILY QUOTE:
"The NATO charter clearly says that any attack on a NATO member shall be treated, by all members, as an attack against all. So that means that, if we attack Greenland, we'll be obligated to go to war against ... ourselves! Gee, that's scary. You really don't want to go to war with the United States. They're insane!"

March 2026

M T W T F S S
       1
2345 678
910 1112 1314 15
1617 1819 202122
2324 2526 272829
3031