22/8/21

mahnmut: (The Swallows have won!)
[personal profile] mahnmut
A really good piece about how the US involvement in Afghanistan was futile from the start:

The Ides of August

This paragraph I found particularly disturbing:

"And what did we stand for? What flourished on our watch? Cronyism, rampant corruption, a Ponzi scheme disguised as a banking system, designed by U.S. finance specialists during the very years that other U.S. finance specialists were incubating the crash of 2008. A government system where billionaires get to write the rules."

That is a very good piece by someone who has no reason to bullshit anyone. It seems to me that it was about a small number of people making a lot of money, as usual. I feel so bad for the Afghan people. They never had a chance.

The US government is who pumped all the money into the corrupt system starting from day one of the Afhgan invasion. 20 years, four presidents, and the US consistently fed the beast. What right do they have to feel that it isn't their fault?

Credits & Style Info

Talk Politics.

A place to discuss politics without egomaniacal mods

DAILY QUOTE:
"The NATO charter clearly says that any attack on a NATO member shall be treated, by all members, as an attack against all. So that means that, if we attack Greenland, we'll be obligated to go to war against ... ourselves! Gee, that's scary. You really don't want to go to war with the United States. They're insane!"

March 2026

M T W T F S S
       1
2345 678
910 1112 1314 15
1617 1819 202122
2324 2526 272829
3031